As a professor of criminal justice, I get a lot of questions about Concealed Handgun laws, and how to get a Concealed Handgun Carry License (CHCL).
The general rule is, if you are carrying a weapon, no matter what kind it is, you are committing a crime in the state of Arkansas.
You may carry a concealed handgun in many places legally if you hold a valid Concealed Handgun Carry License (CHCL). The license is issued by the Arkansas State Police, and most of the information you will need to get started is available on the ASP’s Concealed Handgun Carry Licensing page.
The number of places that you can carry your concealed handgun increases if you get an ENHANCED CHCL. This requires more training in addition to the requirements for the “regular” CHCL.
The CHCL rules can be complicated if you don’t have a background in law and understand how Arkansas government is set up. If you want to learn the how CHCL works in Arkansas, including how to get a license, what your legal rights and responsibilities are, and what to expect from training, then I have prepared a Handbook for you:
Products from Amazon.com‹ ›
If you hold a valid Arkansas Concealed Handgun Carry License, you may legally carry your concealed handgun into other states, but you must follow the concealed carry laws of that state once you are there. The following states–at the time of this writing–indicate that they will honor Arkansas CHCLs.
- Texas. Contact the Texas Department of Public Safety for details.
- Mississippi. Contact the Mississippi Department of Public Safety for details.
- Louisiana. Contact the Louisiana State Police for details.
- Tennessee. Contact the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security for details.
- Oklahoma. Contact the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation for details.
- Missouri. Contact the Missouri Office of the Attorney General for details.
Related Pages on This Site
Last Modified: 07/03/2018
Products from Amazon.com
Price: $14.95Was: $15.95
Price: $9.50Was: $21.99